Search Options
Home Media Explainers Research & Publications Statistics Monetary Policy The €uro Payments & Markets Careers
Sort by

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board meets every three weeks to discuss, plan and carry out the ECB’s supervisory tasks.

It proposes draft decisions to the Governing Council under the non-objection procedure.

ECB Governing Council


  • Chair (appointed for a non-renewable term of five years)
  • Vice-Chair (chosen from among the members of the ECB's Executive Board)
  • four ECB representatives
  • representatives of national supervisors

If the national supervisory authority designated by a Member State is not a national central bank (NCB), the representative of the competent authority can be accompanied by a representative from their NCB. In such cases, the representatives are together considered as one member for the purposes of the voting procedure.


Andrea Enria


Frank Elderson


Pentti Hakkarainen

ECB representative

Edouard Fernandez-Bollo

ECB representative

Kerstin af Jochnick

ECB representative

Elizabeth McCaul

ECB representative

Tom Dechaene

Nationale Bank van België/Banque Nationale de Belgique

Radoslav Milenkov

Bulgarian National Bank

Mark Branson

Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienst­leistungs­aufsicht

Joachim Wuermeling

Deutsche Bundesbank

Kilvar Kessler


Veiko Tali

Eesti Pank

Ed Sibley

Central Bank of Ireland/Banc Ceannais na hÉireann

Ilias Plaskovitis

Bank of Greece

Margarita Delgado

Banco de España

Denis Beau

Banque de France

Renata Samodol

Hrvatska narodna banka

Alessandra Perrazzelli

Banca d'Italia

George Ioannou

Central Bank of Cyprus

Simonas Krėpšta

Lietuvos bankas

Kristīne Černaja-Mežmale

Finanšu un kapitāla tirgus komisija

Māris Kālis

Latvijas Banka

Claude Wampach

Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier

Eric Cadilhac

Banque centrale du Luxembourg

Joseph Gavin

Malta Financial Services Authority

Oliver Bonello

Bank Ċentrali ta’ Malta/Central Bank of Malta

Steven Maijoor

De Nederlandsche Bank

Helmut Ettl

Österreichische Finanzmarktaufsicht

Gottfried Haber

Oesterreichische Nationalbank

Ana Paula Serra

Banco de Portugal

Irena Vodopivec Jean

Banka Slovenije

Vladimír Dvořáček

Národná banka Slovenska

Anneli Tuominen


Päivi Tissari

Suomen Pankki - Finlands Bank

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee supports the activities of the Supervisory Board and prepares the Board’s meetings.


  • Chair of the Supervisory Board
  • Vice-Chair of the Supervisory Board
  • one ECB representative
  • five representatives of national supervisors

The five representatives of national supervisors are appointed by the Supervisory Board for one year based on a rotation system that ensures a fair representation of countries.

Members of the Steering Committee
Chair of the Supervisory Board Andrea Enria
Vice-Chair of the Supervisory Board Frank Elderson
ECB representative Kerstin af Jochnick
Belgium Tom Dechaene (Nationale Bank van België/Banque Nationale de Belgique)
Bulgaria Radoslav Milenkov (Bulgarian National Bank)
Ireland Ed Sibley (Central Bank of Ireland/Banc Ceannais na hÉireann)
France Denis Beau (Banque de France)
Italy Alessandra Perrazzelli (Banca d'Italia)

Find out more about related content

Find out more

List of ECB managers

All pages in this section