Supervisory Board Member appointed

15 December 2016

The Governing Council of the European Central Bank (ECB) has appointed 
Pentti Hakkarainen as ECB representative to the Supervisory Board of the Single Supervisory Mechanism. Mr Hakkarainen, currently Deputy Governor of Suomen Pankki – Finlands Bank and Chairman of the Finnish Financial Supervisory Authority (FIN-FSA), will take up his new role in February.

The Supervisory Board is responsible for planning and carrying out the ECB’s banking supervision tasks and proposing complete draft decisions for adoption by the Governing Council.

The representatives of 19 national competent authorities sit on the Supervisory Board. It is chaired by Danièle Nouy, and the Vice-Chair is Sabine Lautenschläger, who is also a member of the Executive Board of the ECB. The ECB also appoints four representatives to the Supervisory Board; in addition to Pentti Hakkarainen, these are currently Julie Dickson, Luc Coene and Ignazio Angeloni.

For media queries, please contact Ronan Sheridan, tel.: +49 69 1344 7416.

Find out more

Media contacts